Calendar

FCS is a growing, dynamic ministry.  For ten out of the last thirteen years we have had far more events than there are weeks in the year.  As we are limited by the hunting seasons for specific animals and birds we frequently have several events occurring simultaneously.  For details on our most imminent events see our Upcoming Events web page.

2018

January

  • Tuesday, 1/2/18, AM – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on Stillhouse Hollow Lake.
  • Friday, 1/5/18 through Sunday, 1/7/18 AM – Self-guided/chartered Coastal Blast and Cast (Duck Hunt and Bay Fishing Trip) at Port O’Connor.
  • Saturday, 1/13/18 – Guided Inland Duck Hunt with Ricky Ethridge near Marquez.
  • Saturday, 1/13/18 – ‘New Year’s Clay Opener’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Copperhead Creek Shooting Club in Marble Falls.
  • Monday, 1/15/18, AM – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on Somerville Lake.
  • Friday, 1/19/18, AM – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on Belton Lake.
  • Saturday, 1/20/18, 9:00 AM – 11:30 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 1/27/18, AM – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on Granger Lake.
  • Saturday, 1/27/18 – ‘Promatic Open’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).

February

  • Monday, 2/5/18, 7:00 – 9:30 PM – FCS Meeting and Wild Game Dinner at Ron Denison’s home (1009 Ambrose Cv., Pflugerville, 512-670-7717 – Home, 512-217-4677 – Cell).
  • Saturday, 2/10/18, 9:00 AM – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 2/17/18 – ‘Fantastic Feb Clay Shoot’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Copperhead Creek Shooting Club in Marble Falls.
  • Monday, 2/19/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on Lake Decker.
  • Saturday, 2/24/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on Lake Austin.

March

  • Saturday, 3/3/18, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM – Guided Upland Bird Hunt with Mike Schumann near Dime Box.
  • Monday, 3/5/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on Lake Pflugerville.
  • Saturday, 3/10/18, 9:00 AM – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 3/24/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on Lake Decker.
  • Sunday, 3/25/18 – ‘March Madness’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Wednesday, 3/28/18, 6:30 – 8:30 PM – FCS Banquet at Texas Land & Cattle (14010 U.S. 183 B, Austin, 512-258-3733).
  • Saturday, 3/31/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on Lake Pflugerville.

April

  • Saturday, 4/7/18, 9:00 – 11:30 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Friday, 4/13/18 through Saturday, 4/14/18 – 24-hour Sporting Clays Shoot at the 74 Ranch near Campbellton.
  • Saturday, 4/14/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on Lake Pflugerville.
  • Tuesday, 4/24/18, 7:00 – 9:30 PM – FCS Meeting and Chili Supper at Mr. Charles Batts’ home (9706 Bordeaux La., Austin, 512-258-8773 – Home, 512-750-2225 – Cell).
  • Sunday, 4/29/18 – ‘Bluebonnet Special’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).

May

  • Monday, 5/7/18, 1:00 – 9:00 PM – Chartered Striped/Hybrid Bass Fishing Trip with Empty Pockets on Lake Buchanan.
  • Saturday, 5/12/18, 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM – ‘FCS Open’ (Two Rounds of Sporting Clays) at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707) followed by lunch at La Palapa (6640 E. Highway 290, Austin, 512-459-8729).
  • Friday, 5/18/18 – Sunday, 5/20/18 – Self-guided Hog Hunt at Mr. Charles Batts’ ranch near Junction.
  • Saturday, 5/19/18 – Sunday, 5/20/18 – Semi-guided Hog Hunt with Tenney Creek Outfitters near McMahan.
  • Sunday, 5/20/18 – ‘McBride’s Open’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Thursday, 5/24/18, 6:30 – 8:00 PM – Wild Game Dinner (Ministry Event) at St. George’s Court (1443 Coronado Hills Drive, Austin).
  • Saturday, 5/26/18 – ‘May Day Clay’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Copperhead Creek Shooting Club in Marble Falls.
  • Monday, 5/28/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on a Lake Pflugerville.

June

  • Saturday, 6/2/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on a lake TBD.
  • Thursday, 6/7/18, 7:00 – 9:30 PM – FCS Meeting and Fajita Dinner at Jim McGee’s home (2605 Izoro Bend, Cedar Park, 512-791-3464).
  • Friday, 6/8/18 – Sunday, 6/10/18 – Self-chartered Bay Fishing Trip near Port O’Connor.
  • Saturday, 6/16/18, 9:00 – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Tuesday, 6/19/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on a lake TBD.
  • Saturday, 6/30/18 – ‘Capitol City Classic’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).

July

  • Saturday, 7/7/18, 9:00 AM – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 7/14/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on a lake TBD.
  • Saturday, 7/14/18 – ‘Firecracker Special’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 7/21/18 – ‘Clayfest’ Sporting Clays Tournament at the National Shooting Complex in San Antonio.
  • Saturday, 7/28/18 – ‘Freedom Clays’ Sporting Clays Tournament at the Copperhead Creek Shooting Club in Marble Falls.

August

  • Saturday, 8/4/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on a lake TBD.
  • Monday, 8/6/18, 7:00 – 9:30 PM – FCS Meeting and Steak Dinner at Randy Rowley’s home (11612 Birchbark Trail, Austin, 512-922-2484).
  • Saturday, 8/11/18, 9:00 AM – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 8/18/18 – ‘Cotton Canyon Open’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Copperhead Creek Shooting Club in Marble Falls.

September

  • Saturday, 9/1/18, 10:00 AM – sunset – Dove Hunt on the Evans Ranch near San Saba.
  • Saturday, 9/1/18, all day – Dove Hunt with Tony Arce, Jr. near Uvalde.
  • Saturday, 9/3/18 – Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trip on a lake TBD.
  • Saturday, 9/8/18, 9:00 – 11:30 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Friday, 9/14/18 – Saturday, 9/15/18 – Guided Teal Hunt with Rayce Jenkins near El Campo.
  • Saturday, 9/15/18, 10:00 AM – sunset – Dove Hunt on the Evans Ranch near San Saba.
  • Saturday, 9/29/18 – ‘Patriot Day’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 9/29/18, 10:00 AM – sunset – Dove Hunt on the Evans ranch near San Saba.

October

  • Saturday, 10/06/18, 9:00 AM – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 10/6/18, AM – Self-chartered Bass Fishing and Duck Scouting Trip on a lake TBD.
  • Tuesday, 10/9/18, 7:00 – 9:30 PM – FCS Meeting and Shrimp Boil at Bruce Crockett’s home (2119 Woodston Dr., Round Rock, 512-970-7797).
  • Saturday, 10/13/18, 10:00 AM – sunset – Dove Hunt on the Evans ranch near San Saba.
  • Saturday, 10/20/18 – Sunday, 10/28/18 – NSCA National Sporting Clays Championship Tournament at the National Shooting Complex in San Antonio.
  • Saturday, 10/27/18, 10:00 AM – sunset – Dove Hunt on the Evans ranch near San Saba.

November

  • Friday, 11/9/18 through Saturday, 11/10/18 – Guided Goose Hunt with Rayce Jenkins near El Campo.
  • Saturday, 11/10/18, AM – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on a lake TBD.
  • Saturday, 11/10/18, 9:00 AM – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 11/17/18 – ‘Give ‘em the Bird’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 11/17/18 – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on a lake TBD.

December

  • Saturday, 12/8/18 – ‘Buck N’ Clays’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Thursday, 12/6/18, 7:00 – 9:30 PM – FCS Meeting and Venison Stew at Wayne Weilnau’s home (16100 Fritsch Cove, Austin, 512-388-3340 – Home, 512-589-4120 – Cell).
  • Friday, 12/7/18 through Saturday, 12/8/18 – Guided Inland Duck Hunt with Ricky Ethridge at a location TBD.
  • Friday, 12/14/18 through Saturday, 12/15/18 – Guided Inland Duck Hunt with Ricky Ethridge at a location TBD.
  • Saturday, 12/15/18, all day – Dove Hunt with Tony Arce, Jr. near Uvalde.
  • Saturday, 12/15/18, 9:00 AM – 11:45 AM – FCS Sporting Clays Shoot at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
  • Saturday, 12/15/18 ‘Copperhead Creek’ NSCA Sporting Clays Tournament at Copperhead Creek in Marble Falls.
  • Saturday, 12/22/18, AM – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on a lake TBD.
  • Wednesday, 12/26/18, AM – Self-guided Inland Duck Hunt on a lake TBD.
  • Friday, 12/28/18 through Sunday, 12/30/18 – Self-guided Coastal Blast and Cast (Duck Hunt and Bay Fishing Trip) at a location TBD.
  • Saturday, 12/29/18 – ‘Year End Finale’ Sporting Clays Tournament at the Capitol City Trap & Skeet Club (8707 Lindell Lane, Austin, 512-272-4707).
Events Summary
Sporting Clays Tournaments 18
Waterfowl Hunts 15
Freshwater Fishing Trips 14
Sporting Clays Shoots 12
Dove Hunts 7
FCS Meetings 6
Hog Hunts 2
Upland Bird Hunt 1
Bay Fishing Trip 1
24-hour Sporting Clays Shoot 1
Banquet 1
Ministry Event 1
Total 79
Category Summary
Shoots 31
Hunts 25
Fishing Trips 15
Meetings 6
Banquet 1
Ministry Event 1
Total 79

Note: See the Upcoming Events web page or contact Randy Rowley for more information or to confirm event details. Dates, times, locations of events, etc. can change due to unforeseen scheduling conflicts, bad weather, insufficient people are projected to attend, projected lack of game, etc. If there is a change in an event the assigned event coordinator will update the calendar and upcoming events web page and email everyone on the FCS distribution list. Therefore, it is recommended that you sign up to be on the distribution list. If you have questions or wish to be added to the distribution list email Randy at randywrowley@gmail.com (his preference) or call him at 512-922-2484.  If you text, please identify yourself.

Event Planning Distribution

Here is the list of which officer will oversee which events for 2018.

Randy Rowley will oversee planning, promotion, and reporting of the following events:

  • FCS Meetings (six events)
  • Guided Upland Bird Hunt (one event)
  • Ministry Event – Wild Game Dinner (one event)
  • Self-chartered Bass Fishing Trips (13 events; Randy’s bass rotation is in effect)
  • Self-guided Coastal Blasts and Casts (Duck Hunts and Bay Fishing Trips) (two events)
  • Self-guided Dove Hunts (San Saba) (five events)
  • Self-guided Hog Hunt (one event)
  • Self-guided Inland Duck Hunts (eight events; Randy’s duck rotation is in effect)
  • Semi-guided Hog Hunt (one event)

Total = 38 events

Bruce Crockett will oversee planning, promotion, and reporting of the following events:

  • 24-hour Sporting Clays Shoot (one event)
  • Sporting Clays Tournaments (18 events)
  • Sporting Clays Shoots (12 events; one includes a youth group)

Total = 31 events

Ian Daniels will oversee planning, promotion, and reporting on the following events:

  • Guided Inland Waterfowl Hunts (five events; three guided inland duck hunts, a guided goose hunt, and a guided teal hunt)

Total = 5 events

Daryl Shipper will oversee planning, promotion, and reporting of the following events:

  • Chartered Freshwater Striped/Hybrid Bass Fishing Trip (one event)
  • Self-chartered Bay Fishing Trip (one event)

Total = 2 events

Art Barrera will oversee planning, promotion, and reporting of the following events:

  • Self-guided Uvalde Dove Hunts (two events)

Total = 2 events

Michael Armstrong will oversee planning, promotion, and reporting of the following event:

  • FCS Banquet (one event)

Total = 1 event

Grand Total = 79 events